top of page

A fitting closing to the mysteries of La Lune

My final inspired dish was a simple one, but mentioned in the book many times: a cheese plate with a bottle of wine.

For this one I found a couple of sharp and creamy French cheeses as well as chicken liver Pâté, something I had never tried. I drizzled some honey over the super sharp and aromatic Délice de Bourgogne cheese to curb the sharpness a bit and had some raspberries on hand for some tart freshness. The mushroom Brie brought a nice earthiness to everything else and the crusty baguette slices rounded everything out. This was the perfect dinner while reflecting on The Witch of Painted Sorrows and the many layers it offered me as a reader.

I must say that I loved the book and got swept away by the grand salons and descriptions of Paris. The characters were so compelling, which was refreshing. My experience of late has been that I like some characters in a book, but most are meh and interchangeable. Not here. Each and every character, big or small has a very specific role to play and a backstory to build on.

There's a lot of mystery and mysticism, but so much more art and love and joie de vivre. All of that is then infused in a tonic of suspense and just a bit of horror. Ultimately, it is all impeccably done and you are left with an intense cliffhanger.

I cannot wait for the next installment of the Daughters of La Lune series and highly recommend this book.

Bon Appetit!!

* Everything, including the serving platter, bought at Trader Joe's. Love TJs now and forever.



My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:
bottom of page